What is Islam? explained by non-Muslim

credit to : https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse
for more info http://www.whyislam.org/
What is Islam?
Islam is not a new religion, but the same truth that God revealed through all His prophets to every people. “Islam” simply means peace through submission to God. For a fifth of the world’s population, Islam is both a religion and a complete way of life.
Islam is not a cult. Along with Judaism and Christianity, it is considered to be one of the three Abrahamic traditions. Its followers number over 1.5 billion worldwide. One billion people from a vast range of races, nationalities and cultures across the globe – from the southern Philippines to Nigeria – are united by their common Islamic faith. About 18% live in the Arab world; the world’s largest Muslim community is in Indonesia; substantial parts of Asia and most of Africa are Muslim, while significant minorities are to be found in the Soviet Union, China, North and South America, and Europe.
Muslims are found throughout various parts of the world including China, Islam is a multi-national faith with Muslims in every country!

There are five pillars of practice in Islam. These practices must be undertaken with the best of effort in order to be considered a true Muslim:
A) Shahadah — or declaration of faith in the oneness of God and that Muhammad is the last prophet of God.
B) Payer five times a day.
C) Fasting during the daylight hours in the month of Ramadan.
D) Poor-due charity – 2.5% of one’s savings given to the needy at the end of each year.
E) Pilgrimage to Mecca at least once, if physically and financially able.

There are six articlesof faith in Islam.These are the basic beliefs that one must have in order to be considered a true Muslim. Muslims believe in One, Unique, Incomparable God; in the Angels created by Him; in the Prophets through whom His revelations were brought to mankind; in the Day of Judgement and individual accountability for actions; in God’s complete authority over human destiny, and in life after death. Muslims believe in a chain of prophets starting with Adam and including Noah, Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Job, Moses, Aaron, David, Solomon, Elias, Jonah, John the Baptist, and Jesus, peace be upon them. But God’s final message to man, a reconfirmation of the eternal message and a summing-up of all that has gone before was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad Peace and Blessings be upon him through Gabriel.
In Summary the articles of faith are belief in:
A) The One God.
B) All the Prophets of God.
C) The original scriptures revealed to Prophets Moses, David, Jesus, and Muhammad.
D) The Angels.
E) The Day of Judgment and the Hereafter.
F) The divine decree (or destiny).

Islam is a complete way of life that governs all facets of life: moral, spiritual, social, political, economical, intellectual, etc.

Islam is the fastest growing religion in the world. To become Muslim, a person of any race or culture must say a simple statement, the “shahadah” (or the “witnessing”), that bears witness to the belief in the One God and that Prophet Muhammad was the last Prophet of God. The word “Muslim” means one who submits to the will of God, regardless of their race, nationality or ethnic background. Becoming a Muslim is a simple and easy process that requires no pre-requisites. One may convert alone in privacy, or he/she may do so in the presence of others.

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)

You might be interested in